… Walking bare feet on the dew-y grass!

Hills… Night was just gone. It was early dawn. The strains of the night had melted as dew drop – clinging to the leaves, flowers, branches and trees. Dewy flowers give very enticing aroma. I just happened to wake up early. Not knowing what to do, I decided to stroll on the grass in my lawn. I left my sleepers to a side.

DewyMorning-728797There was no sun. Stars were winding up – up there in the sky. Wind was chilly as it was hitting the nape of my neck. I could sense the energy that the cold breeze was trying to infuse in me. I continued strolling. … Slowly, I was surrounded by streams of fleeting thoughts so much so, that I forgot the need for any warmth around. My legs were feeling a bit tired initially, later the whole body was overwhelmed by the release of tension inside. Barefoot003Throughout the day, it takes a lot of stress. … Time checks and deadlines, reports and returns, people with problems – sometimes their own, sometimes for the others! This world has changed a lot. I feel I am still a kid watching it change – under go metamorphosis, watching the time pass-by, with a finger between my teeth – bewildered, – in astonishment! How we used to live in our city then – in my childhood – how congested it used to be there! Now I have the vast open sky above and the ground below is part of the valley that I proudly call mine for the time being. How green this valley is! I now hear the noise coming from groups of children – playing football in the near by high school – learning biking on the curvy-curly roads with steep gradients – interrupted by the sound of a motor-vehicle every now and then – zipping by! How beautiful people are here! Many images come to my mind now – images of their laughter, their smile, their folklores, their arts and crafts – how rich is their culture, how limited are their requirements, how contented are they! I feel the tickle below my feet. DSC00503Birds are chirping their morning songs – cuck – cuck – chippy – chippy – churr – churr! Suddenly I am forced to return to the reality that many of the inhabitants of this place face day in and day out – that of the insurgency! How unrelated this beauty is to the family which has lost their only son in a terror-strike! Had there been not the problem of insurgency, this place would have been a great tourist destination. Sun is coming out now and before it dries the sap out of the dewy grass I have to return to my cottage and get into the daily routine once more.

Oh, what a feeling it was to walk bare foot on the dew-y grass! How soothing it was to feel the pure unadulterated freedom of my soul! How nice it would be to become a child again! World moves in a rotation of routines it seems. We keep craving for the same old picture perfect world! A calming sensation of pure satisfaction! I bet you can’t have a better start of a day!

~ by Dr. Sanjeev Kumar on September 5, 2009.

13 Responses to “… Walking bare feet on the dew-y grass!”

  1. Very True Sanjeev … !!
    Even i love walking bare feet on da Dew-y grass .. its an amazing feeling … !!!

  2. When I was a litthe girl I used to this all the time, back home in Romania…it brings back happy memories…but here, in Israel, in a time of great drough, the dew and the grass are scarce…

    • Yes Ramona, there are lot of things that we used to do as kids, but forgot all when we grew up. Don’t know why, but these kid-stuffs used to keep us stress free then!

  3. Great post! I too have felt that dey grass.

  4. This reminds me of home as well, of the grass, the foggy mornings. Great post!

  5. Kaunis kasteine aamupäivä. Hieno blogi!

    • => Kasteine beautiful morning. Nice blog!
      -Translation Done with Google Language tools

      … Thanks, Sulo!

  6. Wow loved reading this blogpost. I added your feed to my reader.

  7. Fantastic, I didn’t know about that till now. Thanks!!

  8. I can not agree more to it. Great post !

  9. If every editor wrote like you believe me the world would be a better place! This was an excellent read expecting more!

  10. Hey, great post. Great blog. It is clean and to the point. I have bookmarked it for future reading. You know it is rare to find quality content on these things…

Leave a Reply

 
